why do they call a skunk a polecat


According to the taxonomic theory proposing two subfamilies within Mustelidae, the polecats are classified as:
Subfamily Genus, I. striatus, (native to Central, Southern, and sub-Saharan Africa), I. libycus Genus, M. eversmannii (Central and Eastern Europe, and Central Asia) (Black-footed ferret) M. nigripes, M. putorius Genus, V. peregusna A more recent classification based on genetic analysis suggests that Mustelidae should be divided into eight subfamilies, one of which is the Mustelinae.


Skunks are moderately small mammals with black-and-white fur belonging to the family Mephitidae and the order Carnivora. There are 11 species of skunks, which are divided into four genera: Mephitis (hooded and striped skunks, two species), Spilogale (spotted skunks, two species), Mydaus (stink badgers, two species), and Conepatus (hog-nosed skunks, five species).

The two skunk species in the Mydaus genus inhabit Indonesia and the Philippines; all other skunks inhabit the Americas from Canada to central South America. Skunks are sometimes called polecats because of their visual similarity to the European polecat (Mustela putorius), a member of the Mustelidae family.

Skunks are closely related to the weasel group and although they are now generally classified as a separate family within the same order, some taxonomists still place them as a subfamily of the Mustelidae.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button