why do the duke of edinburgh bronze award


The Duke of Edinburghs International Award is an internationally recognised program for young people, building their skills to equip them for life and work. By creating opportunities for young people to develop skills, get physically active, give service and experience adventure, the Award can play a critical role in their development. For further information, visit our
The choice to do The Duke of Ed is entirely voluntary and every Award is different. Each Participant chooses what activities they want to take part in for each Section. It is a very personal program that offers young people a structure to fulfill their passions and ambitions in a way that suits them. Apart from the requirements for each Section, and the safety training requirements for the Adventurous Journey Section, the activities a Participant chooses to undertake is entirely up to them.


They have the freedom to progress through The Duke of Ed according to their personal needs and abilities. Download Guides for Participants Key Steps in the Award Process 1) 2)P Ponline and select an Award level 3) Receive your Record Book or Online Record Details 4) Discuss your section activities with your Award Leader and plan your Award program 5) Notify your Award Leader of your Assessor and the goals you have set 6) Set smart goals with your Assessors to be achieved 7) Identify Assessors and approach them 8) When you have finished the requirements for your activities, ensure your Assessors writes a report and signs-off on your record 9) Submit your Record Book to your Award Leader 10) Await final assessment and sign-off 11) Congratulations and receive your Award next PP What is the DofE all about?


A DofE programme is a real adventure from beginning to end. It doesnвt matter who you are or where youвre from. You just need to be aged between 14 and 24 and realise thereвs more to life than sitting on a sofa watchВing life pass you by. By doing your DofE, you\’re in for an amazing adventure and masses of fun as you take part in a range of activiВties, all leading to the achievement of an Award that\’s recognised by universities and employers alike. There are three levels of programme you can do which, when you\’ve successfully completed them, lead to a Bronze, Silver or Gold Duke of Edinburghвs Award.

The main differences between them are the minimum length of time it takes to complete them, how challenging it is and the minimum age you can start. Depending on your age, you are free to start at any level but most people prefer to try for Bronze and work upwards. There are age restrictions for each one so it makes sense to build yourself up rather than dive in at the deep end. The tables below show you minimum timescales for each level and section. We\’ve put the length of time in months -you need to show regular activity and commitment during this time of averaging at least an hour a week. You can\’t achieve an Award in a short burst of enthusiasm over one weekend!

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button